Rev3 Poconos Preview

 

rev

 

This weekend is the Rev3 Poconos race – my first and only Rev3 race (now that they have merged with the Challenge Family). The Athlete Guide came out on Tuesday and had a few interesting points about the race. Here are my quick impressions leading up to the weekend:

  • Two transitions and point to point race. I did this in my first half (Ironman 70.3 in Providence, Rhode Island). Pain in the ass. 
  • Lake swim. Okay.
  • Much flatter bike course than I had heard or had imagined. A quick decent and then rollers.
  • I don’t care about the run because I’m not doing it. (more in a minute)
  • I need to leave immediately after to catch a flight to Denver.

I booked this race in April, back when my leg was hurting badly. I registered for the Aquabike Half, which is a 1.2 mile swim and 56 mile bike and DONE. I’ve never done one of these before. I’m excited. I think it was a wise choice then, and a decent choice now because I’m not totally pumped about this race. After being totally drained after Gay Games, I’ve admittedly let my training slip a bit in the last month. 

I imagine I will still have a decent race. There is the “what if” – as in, what if I had fully trained for this, how would I have done – but to be honest, I’m exhausted. It’s been about three weeks of waking up every day feeling totally empty and spent. I have been training consistently since the beginning of September last year when I was cleared from my collar bone surgery and immediately started my 140.6 training. I’ve had a stellar season. I’m ready to be done.

Not the most enthusiastic way to go into a race, I know. I’m looking to have fun, cheer on my teammates who actually DID do the work, and end my season happily. 

Stay tuned for results!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

