Nike to Discontinue FuelBand?

Reports came out this weekend on tech web site CNET that Nike has laid off its FuelBand team and ended production on a slimline Imageversion that was to launch in the fall. All signs point to this being end of the Nike+ FuelBand, although Nike has neither confirmed or denied this news. Yet. 

The Active Times guesses that Nike may partner with a more established hardware maker such as Apple instead of trying to fight for market shares on its now. The Active Times reports that Nike has about a 10% share of the fitness tracker market.

Nike says it will continue to support the existing version of the band and to continue to develop its Fuel app.

I personally don’t have any wearable tech, and I’m glad I didn’t get a FuelBand when I had the inclination to do so a year or so ago. I like the idea of tracking and having this information, but I can also do the same thing with just a little extra effort on my iPhone through free apps. I do have teammates who like the Jawbone UP and FitBit, but unless they came my way without cost, I don’t think I’m in the market for anything any time soon. I’ve been running without a watch for two seasons since my Garmin 405 broke, and I think I’d prioritize that over other wearable tech – but that’s not even on my to-buy list right now. 

I actually don’t know anyone who uses Nike+ FuelBand regularly, so I guess I can’t really say whether this is a loss or not. 

Leave a Reply

